Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tjain_seattle

Help me save my yard

tjain_seattle
10 years ago

I moved in this home last summer when I think the yard was in a better state. Now as spring is coming the yard looks horrendous.
Even though I have a gardener who charges me an arm and a leg, I dont think he has been taking good care of the yard.

I am a newbie and I will need to take over and make it look better. There are mutiple issues and I think the solutions are simple but I want to get help from the experts on what are the right things to do. I will do multiple postings on this thread to explain the different issue

Comments (10)

• tjain_seattle
    Original Author
    10 years ago

No Grass in this area at all. This area used to have grass and now its all brown and muddy? What do I need to do?

Get some mulch, top-soil and then some SOD or seed and water extensively?

• tjain_seattle
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I have multiple areas like this where I have what I think is moss growing. Should I just get some moss remover and spray it here or?

• tjain_seattle
    Original Author
    10 years ago

This area is just barren and there are multiple spots like this. What can I do to make healthy grass grow here again?

• tjain_seattle
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here, there are a lot of small stones in this grass less area, probably making it hard for the grass to grow. There are multiple spots like this. Should I clear the stones and put some mulch over here and then seeds or SOD

• tjain_seattle
    Original Author
    10 years ago

This one is dead brown grass and can be seen throughout the yard...is it just a matter of new seeds and fertilizing or there is something else?

• tjain_seattle
    Original Author
    10 years ago

and last but probably the most problematic area....

the tree roots are coming out of the ground and probably fighting for water with the grass.