Return to the New to Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help! Got Tulips as a Present and I'm new to Gardening

Posted by sashelle Florida (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 29, 06 at 20:01

My boyfriend just bought me tulips from Publix, they are potted and one of the pots already bloomed or is still blooming but the other one the tulips haven't opened. I am new to gardening and i love tulips and I want to know what I have to do to keep them alive. I live in Orlando, Fl just so you have an idea of the weather here. If anyone can help I will be VERY thankful.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help! Got Tulips as a Present and I'm new to Gardening

Enjoy them! Tulips expect to bloom during very cool, crisp spring weather -- heat will make them open wide and then call it quits. You can sometimes fool potted tulips into holding their blooms longer, by refrigerating them overnight and keeping them as cool as possible otherwise.