Return to the New to Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What does 'days to harvest' really mean?

Posted by maridy 4ish (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 8, 08 at 22:56

Hi, I am a complete newbie. Last year's pitiful crop was my first attempt. In inspecting seed packages, I see the "days to harvest" numbers and am not sure how to interpret that. I know it is only a guide, especially if the seeds are not from around my area. But my question is what the timing is based from. It is time of planting, time of germination, or some other baseline that it is determined from. I ask because I have some summer squash seeds that say 50-60 days. Does that mean I'll be eating squash two months(ish) after I plant it? And what about those plants that say you can start them growing inside about 8 weeks (56 days) before planting them outside, yet they have a "days to harvest" of 75 days? So, only 20 days left till harvest, or 75? Please help, it's all confusing and I'm trying to plan my garden for this year and need to know what to plant when. Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What does 'days to harvest' really mean?

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Sun, Mar 9, 08 at 12:58

Normally for seeds started indoors and transplanted into the garden, the "days to harvest" is calculated from the transplanting date into the garden to the days the variety should mature and may be picked/consumed.

o

Thanks morz8, that's the first definite answer I've gotten on that question. It definitely helps with my planning.

o

• Posted by yama 7b Ga (My Page) on
    Thu, Apr 3, 08 at 18:00

Hi
"days to harvest" give you some idea of timing of harvesting.if weather is( or growing condition) not ferfect for the plants , it will take longer than stated days. growing veg in southern states or north makes different also makes different.
Since you are in northern state, days of harvest may be longer than Georgia or other southern states.
yama

o