Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thane_gw

Searchable plant database? How do you find out what's available?

thane
17 years ago

Hi there. I'm a newbie who's trying to decide on some plants to fill an area in the front of my house.

I have consulted some landscape design books, and I know the following steps to approaching this problem:

Figure out your zone

Figure out how much sunlight the area gets

Figure out the soil type and pH

Decide how big you want the plant to get

My question is: What does one do next when deciding on what to use in a given situation? I'm thinking there must be some kind of searchable database on the web that will let you do an advanced search that shows only:

evergreen shrubs, hardy in zone 8, that like acidic soil, that don't get over 3' tall

Does such a database exist? If not, what do you use?

Comments (4)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    17 years ago

Local nurseries are probably your best bet. Many will have plants arranged by mature size and by sun/shade preferences and other distinguishing characteristics. Better nurseries (NOT HD, Lowes, Walmart, Fred Meyer, etc) will typically have a rather experienced and knowledgeable sales staff that can answer further questions.

One of the drawbacks of a "universal" data base is that not all zone 8 climates are the same (i.e. Texas, Georgia and Washington), sun conditions in our far northerly zone 8 are rather different than in others, and data bases also tend to be rather static and due to potential size, almost impossible to maintain with regards to new cultivars or local availability and more regional issues such as disease or pest problems.

The best data base is one that you cultivate or construct yourself, but that can take many years of gardening experience and a thorough knowledge of the plants. In lieu of that, ask a local expert :-)

• meldy_nva
    17 years ago

But before you go shopping, I think there should be one more "figure out" on your list: Figure out what YOU want!