Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nwgardengirl

garden with or without beauty bark?

nwgardengirl
16 years ago

Hi ya, first post and I am a relatively new gardener. I just moved into a new construction home last year and this is the first spring that I have been able to get into the gardens that I have created on my tiny suburban lot.

My problem is I love the look and the smell of beauty bark but it seems to wreck havic on my gardens; it chokes the tender plants, it fades quickly and it inevitably will find its way under my skin as I am gardening - besides the fact that my darling hubby detests the stuff.

Is there alternatives to mulching and keeping the weeds reduced in my gardens without using beauty bark. I cant use the cocoa hulls because of my bulldog, that would head straight for them when he goes outside.

Since I am new this is what is in my garden this year - please excuse me if I am a novice and dont know what varieties I have.

Gladiolas

Cannas

Hollyhocks

Asiatic Lillies

petunias

a Little Kim lilac

one little azalea

one small rody

some grasses (development placed them before we bought the house)

some daffs (yea - STILL blooming!)

and some primroses

and hostas

please help - I feel like such an incompetent when it comes to gardening!

Comments (7)

• lindac
    16 years ago

What is the world is "beauty bark"???
    I think a mulch fo some sort is pretty much a necessity, sepecially for new gardens. I love small pune bark chips....detest any of that dyed stuff...and that recycled rubber stuff is even worse.
    If your mulch is choking your plants you didn't get the fact that it's supposed to be layed around the plants, nut over them nor against the stems.
    Fades? What are you buying? And wear leather gloves when you are gardening...save your hands.
    Do you have some shade for the hosta?
    Linda C

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    16 years ago