Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
quilt_mommy

Is there anything safe to climb directly on the house?

quilt_mommy
15 years ago

I am fairly new to gardening as this is the second spring my Husband and I have been in our home. We purchased it last year this time, so I spent most of the warm months inside rather than out. This year I've been working at creating a small cottage garden feel in the front, my first ever attempt at growing more than a few petunias in a pot! I absolutely love anything that climbs, espeically flowering climbers, but I hear they can do damage to the house. In the March 2008 issue of Cottage Living, however, there is an article about a woman's beautiful cottage garden, and she has a MOUND of clematis right over the entrance to her house...and of course, I woud LOVE to do that! That is, if it's not going to damage our new home! Can anyone offer any suggestions? Thanks!

Comments (6)

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    15 years ago

Our termite inspector said noting should grow on the house but I cannot forget those beautiful vines on old eastern campuses and wonder if the inspector was reciting something he was taught to recite in a seminar.

• quilt_mommy
    Original Author
    15 years ago