Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisa_gw

I need some advise.

Lisa
18 years ago

I would like to have a few potted flowers, plants, trees, etc to keep outside on my back patio and near my front door.

I'm very new to all of this.

I love hydrangea (sp?) but I was wondering if I could have one just in a pot and not planted in the ground? Eventually I'd like to plant it.

I'd also like a ficus tree but every time I get one for outside it dies. Too much sun?

Any other ideas about what else might be good to keep in a pot? I'd really like something bright and fragrant for the back yard.

Thanks so much!

Comments (7)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    18 years ago

The hydrangea can be kept in a pot. Select a larger size pot than you think it might need. Their root systems are vigorous & they need lots of water in containers.

The only Ficus you can give too much sun is pumila - maybe. The rest prefer full sun. Your problem growing them is probably too much water. They like to become very dry between waterings & of course they need to come in for the winter (unless you're referring to F. carica, the hardy fig). Another possibility is putting them directly into full sun, but this usually doesn't kill then. The leaves just scorch & drop off, but (if the tree was healthy) are soon replaced with a flush of leaves already acclimated to full sun.

Al

• MegNYC
    18 years ago

You might want to visit the Container Gardening forum, where you will discover that just about anything, given the right size pot, right kind of soil, right conditions (shade/sun, lots of watering)can be grown in containers. And the Balcony Gardening forum has lots of pictures of plants in containers, to give you ideas.

• Ina Plassa_travis
    18 years ago

everyone's got good advice- and many things take well to containers.