Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
souppeggy

Japanese Beetle Invasion

souppeggy
18 years ago

Again this year I have noticed a bug devouring leaves on plants in my garden. I noticed it last year for the first time but didn't know what it was until I did some investigation on this website. I will consider almost anything other than picking them off as there are so many. Please help me.

Comments (10)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    18 years ago

Picking them off is a temporary solution as more immigrants arrive on the next flight. Neem oil is safe, a powerful anti-feedant, & works well to steer the unwanted visitors to other, untreated plants.

Al

• mrs_emily
    18 years ago

I'm no bug expert, but I know that before Japanese beetles become adults, they are grubs just lying in the ground (those fat, grayish white C-shaped worms that I always smoosh with my trowel). Has anyone ever treated grubs (gotten rid of them) before they grow to adulthood and take over the garden as adult Jap. beetles and does this work? A pound-of-prevention kind of thing.

• meldy_nva
    18 years ago

I think Mrs Emily is talking about 'milky spore' which is rather expensive but is apparently the only thing available that controls the grubs (and thus the beetles). While the initial $ outlay will probably make you say ouch, the spores stay effective up to ten years -- I would say, in our area of torrential downpours, you could reasonably expect about about 8 years before needing to re-apply. You won't see much difference the first year, but there will be a considerable reduction the second year, and few beetles the third year. It's best if you can get your neighbors to do their soil as well!