Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gigi321_gw

Need advice about butterfly bush

gigi321
11 years ago

Planted large (about 6 ft tall) purple butterfly bush in full sun in front of my house back on Mother's Day. Some of the leaves at the bottom are starting to wilt and turn brown (dying) and some of the leaves look to have white powder-looking stuff on them. A few leaves look to have holes eaten in them. I'm new to planting flowers and would love any suggestions on how to hopefully bring this butterfly bush back to health! Thanks in advance for any advice!

Comments (4)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    11 years ago

I'd guess that watering, specifically not enough, is the primary cause of your problems. Plants planted in late spring in full sun will need frequent deep waterings (not a daily sprinkle) to keep the rootball adequately moist. Inadequate soil moisture coupled with high humidity can also be the recipe for powdery mildew, which the white powder-looking stuff may be. Would need a photo to confirm.

Neither the powder nor the munched leaves constitutes anything more than some minor cosmetic damage. The plant is tough enough to grow out of it with ease. Just keep it properly watered.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

Hi & welcome to Gardenweb.

Agree with gardengal, it just needs a chance to settle in. The fact that it's still alive since Mother's Day makes me very confident that it will pull through.

In general, BB's don't need much care once established. Just trim the dead flowers so new ones appear. Wait until spring, when new growth is starting to prune for shape and size. Fall pruning can be fatal to these short-lived shrubs.