Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vpost02176

Help identifying an entire garden? (Round 2)

vpost02176
18 years ago

Hi,

A few years ago, I purchased a home formerly owned by an enthusiastic gardener who planted many beautiful perennials. Unfortunately, the home then was bought by a family who didn't put nearly as much time and effort maintaining the garden. When I purchased the home from them, the beds were completely overgrown and weedy. I am fairly new to perennial gardening and would like to try to figure out what I have, figure out what are weeds and what aren't, and start bringing back the garden to something close to its former glory.

I posted to this group a couple weeks ago, and got a tremendous response (http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/newgard/msg0622410219888.html), so I thought I'd try a second round with plants that have since come into bloom.

The new round of pictures are posted at: http://www.kodakgallery.com/BrowsePhotos.jsp?&collid=14708293208.

Generally, I've tried to take one picture of the plant and its surroundings so that you can see its growing habit, as well as close-ups of flowers and leaves. I've also labeled plants that I know the names of...generally, I only know common names, but if you can provide more specific names, I'd appreciate the additional information.

Thanks in advance!

Here is a link that might be useful: Pictures of plants for ID

Comments (12)

• lindac
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Once more!!....better than weeding my own garden LOL!
    1. a tiny bit of heuchera
    2 looks like some Siberian iris and a tulip
    Looks like a seed pod of something....maybe one of the tulips?
    3 euonomous....of a varigated sort....watch for scale insect on this one.
    4.right!
    5. See!! I told you it was polemonium!
    6. Yep dicentra spectablis
    7. Right again....lovely varieties!
    8. Astilbe
    9. Spirea Anthony Waterer