Return to the New to Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Golden Chain tree and Black Eyed Susan plants

Posted by
Faith
(famadio@cogeco.ca) on
Fri, Jun 24, 05 at 21:24

I am very new to gardening and not very knowledgeable. I have this lovely Golden Chain tree in my back yard and my daughter found some of its seeds. I went on the internet and found out the seeds needed to be 'stratified'...so, I did that - freezing them, soaking them, then, I planted 9 seeds - 3 seeds in each 4 inch pot. I now am the proud owner of 6 seedlings, I guess they are called....two are quite big - maybe 8 inches high.. my question is, Now what do I do with them? They seem to be getting leggy and weak...do I pinch them off at the top to make them grow thicker? Do I leave them alone? Do I keep them in the pots? Move them to bigger pots? Plant them outside? I live in the Niagara Region. I'm not sure what zone.

My second question is I planted Black Eyed Susans from seeds - I have three little pots just crowded with seedlings. What do I do with them? Just pop them in the ground? Is it too late in the season? Should they be thinned out and then planted?

I appreciate your help immensely.
Much Thanks,
Faith

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Golden Chain tree and Black Eyed Susan plants

• Posted by Nurmey 5 Omaha, NE (My Page) on
    Sat, Jun 25, 05 at 11:56

I've never grown Golden chain trees but the trees I have grown like to be in the ground or in a BIG pot pretty early in their life. They have a long tap root and really like to stretch their roots.