Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luvdogs_gw

rose pruning

luvdogs
18 years ago

Hi.

Since I'm a rookie, I just used a lopper to chop down my roses this season. I am getting a nice display but I did notice something. Why are some of the woody canes that were severed not regrowing? It may be all of them. On what are the blooms growing from? The answer may be very enlightening to me with my understanding of the concepts of pruning.

thanks

vicky

Comments (4)

• socks
    18 years ago

You need to have pruned near to a growth point, but not TOO close. If you just whack anywhere, the stump you leave will not resprout.

Next fall, go to the library and get a book about roses to learn how to do it more correctly. Just think--if they are doing well with the job you did using the lopper--how much better your display will be when you have just a bit of education about the process. It really isn't hard.

Good luck.

Susan

• vetivert8
    18 years ago

You get 'the best' flowers coming from the reddish coloured new canes which often have heaps more thorns than the older wood.
    Some people call these 'water shoots' and remove them - which is not a good idea.

On a hybrid tea shrub rose - and many of the old fashioned roses - near the base is a round sort of stump which is sometimes called 'the bud head'. New wood will often start from here and give you the red shoots I mentioned.

However, there can be mini budheads on old wood. The new wood from these points is often neither as thick nor as vigorous as the big burst from the bottom - but they will give you flowers.

The quickest way to check is to look at the different colours of the wood on your roses: red or green is most likely to be new and lively wood with good flower potential; dark or greyish brown, older wood. Older thorns or bristles can be more woody than new ones, too.