Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
david_gw

Bacterial Spot

david
17 years ago

I posted this as a reply on another thread, but didn't get any responses, so I thought I would post as its own thread.

This is my first year with a garden and I have 4 beautiful tomato plants, but they clearly have bacterial spot that has now spread to almost every single fruit on the plants (with the exception of a couple of cherry tomatoes that are still spot free). All others have tiny brownish to black spots on the fruit. My primary use of my fruit will to be to peel and seed the tomatoes for sauces. Can I still do this with the fruit that shows the spots, or do I have to basically toss my entire harvest? I have young children and want to be sure that the bacteria that causes the spots is not going to make anybody ill.

Also, it is late July and I am in New England. Will I continue to get new fruit on these plants, and if so, is there anything I can do to keep those fruit from getting spots?

Thanks...

Comments (3)

• vetivert8
    17 years ago

Could you say whether the damage is skin deep or deeper? When you've taken off the skin you could cautiously taste the 'meat' and smell it. If it tastes fine - and you're going to can the product - then the heat and processing will probably take care of any bug.

I've not heard of any plant disease that acts like salmonella or campylobacter on humans. Nor any in tomatoes that cause a rise in toxicity. Could be worth checking out when you're sure of your ID of the disease.

Also, you may be getting a response to heat, sun, or uneven watering, or even fertiliser, rather than actual bacterial damage. If the taste is unaffected, and you're processing the fruit, then the skin blemishes are unimportant, usually.

Are you growing your cherry tomatoes differently from your main crop at all?

• meldy_nva
    17 years ago