Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
naninowak

pruning

naninowak
18 years ago

i am really@a loss as to how and when to prune my azalea. it had lovely blooms. iwant to keep it from getting too large.when i follow a side branch, it's all woody to the ground. do i cut it to the ground?i don't want to ruin it. i'm new to gardening and have a million questions re. pruning and dead heading. thanks, anna

Comments (5)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    18 years ago

Azaleas have dormant growth buds all up and down the length of their stems just under the bark. They should produce new growth from just below wherever you make pruning cut.

But, it's beginning to get a little late for pruning azalea now. They set their blooms for the next Spring in summer; pruning is best done immediately following bloom to make sure you are not going to lose next years flowers.

Normally, while they respond to pruning well, azaleas don't require it other than removing an occasional branch that might spoil the shape, or taking off something damaged or broken. Are you sure you have your azalea in the right location, is there somewhere else in your garden it could grow where it does not need it's growth tightly controlled.

• blueheron
    18 years ago

Agree with the above. If a shrub needs constant pruning to control size, it's in the wrong place.

• rommy
    18 years ago