Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
musicalmommy_gw

back from holidays to almost dead hanging baskets

musicalmommy
18 years ago

I'm new to gardening. My pride and joy were 3 hanging baskets of trailing supertunias. I just returned from holidays and most of my flowers fared well with the plant sitter.

However, I had left instructions that the 3 hanging baskets would be taken down and left under the deck. But, they must have misunderstood as they took them down but left them under the trellis from which they were hanging from and under the scorching South facing back yard. The hanging baskets look almost dead. The blooms are all brown and shriveled. I touched a few of them and they are not totally crispy to the touch and so my best guess is that the plants wilted due to high heat and lack of water. It probably happened in the last few days as some of the dead blooms are not totally crispy to the touch. I don't really want to ask the plant sitters what happened since all the other plants fared well and I don't want to make them feel bad.

I'm guessing that maybe the baskets went for over 2 days with no watering. The foliage is still green and I see a few blooms now that I've watered them and fertilized them. Does that mean that the baskets have a good chance of recovery since the foliage is still rather green and I can see some blooms? I plan to cut back the stems and hopefully "start over". Should I deadhead?...but there are masses of dead blooms now.

I wanted to double check that I was on the right track with cutting the stems back before getting out the shears.

The baskets are now sheltering under my deck.

Comments (8)

• albertar
    18 years ago

Sounds like you revived them by watering them which is all good, :) don't leave them in the shade though, they will need sun again. Pick off what ever is dead, and keep them well watered. Fertilize when you see NEW growth. Best of luck!
    Alberta

• cattlady
    18 years ago