Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vpost02176

Help identifying an entire garden? (Round 3)

vpost02176
18 years ago

Hi,

A few years ago, I purchased a home formerly owned by an enthusiastic gardener who planted many beautiful perennials. Unfortunately, the home then was bought by a family who didn't put nearly as much time and effort maintaining the garden. When I purchased the home from them, the beds were completely overgrown and weedy. I am fairly new to perennial gardening and would like to try to figure out what I have, figure out what are weeds and what aren't, and start bringing back the garden to something close to its former glory.

I posted to this group a couple times, and got a tremendous response, so I thought I'd try a third round with plants that have since come into bloom. This round is pretty skimpy...turns out my garden is in sore need of color come late June/early July. Any suggestions on favorites for blooms this time of year?

Anyway, the new round of pictures are posted at: http://www.kodakgallery.com/BrowsePhotos.jsp?&collid=85054108208.

Generally, I've tried to take one picture of the plant and its surroundings so that you can see its growing habit, as well as close-ups of flowers and leaves. (Sorry for some of the blurry photos this round.) I've also labeled plants that I know the names of...generally, I only know common names, but if you can provide more specific names, I'd appreciate the additional information.

Thanks in advance, and many thanks to everyone who's helped me out in the past two rounds!

Here is a link that might be useful: Mystery plants round 3

Comments (13)

• pitimpinai
    18 years ago

1-3 Dunno - Maybe an oak seedling?
    4- A Phlox paniculata?
    5-9 Achillea - Yarrow - very invasive
    10-11 You're right - a daylily - dunno the variety
    12-14 Could be Achillea ptarmica 'The Pearl' or 'Angel's Breath'

Not very helpful, huh? :p

• lindac
    18 years ago