Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
harmonyfarms_gw

Finding potting soil?

harmonyfarms
17 years ago

I'm relatively new to gardening but have done container planting, some "summer sowing" and working on the beds in our yard. Here's my question. I went to the local 'big box' store to get some potting soil. Most of the big bags had fertilizer in it. Since I am planning on doing a lot of winter sowing, I didn't want that. What should I be looking for? I did find a cheap bag (under $5) that actually looks pretty good. Just wondering where and what to look for. Space is a concern, so I don't see me buying in bulk to make my own.

Comments (4)

• meldy_nva
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

State and Federal regulations are mostly concerned that the 'soil' not contain hazardous elements -- otherwise, it's pretty much a case of whatever the manufacturer puts in, is okay. And if you've read the 'ingredients list' on several different bags, you've discovered they really don't say much! Potting soil seems to be mostly caveat emptor and advertising.

If fertilizer has been added, then reliable companies will give the product's official NPK - and don't forget that most soil has *some* NPK without additives. (OTOH, if a company is constantly testing NPK as part of their manufacturing process, then it is unlikely you will get a bag of either very acidic or very akaline soil.)