Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annewaldron_gw

Getting ready to 'go for it'- any last-minute advice??

annewaldron
18 years ago

Hello, all- newbie here who's getting ready to go for it in my front flower beds. Here's my plan:

1) buy a giant bag of compost, some Bandini Start n' grow, some Sluggo, and some plants/flowers that I have seen growing in the neighborhood that I like

2) turn a bunch of compost into the flower bed to raise it up a bit

3) plant a small area to start (add Start n' Grow at this step)

4) water

5) apply Sluggo

6) admire

7) go to bed

8) wake up & go to the front door

9) pray

1. open the front door & see if anything's still there!

Anybody have any advice I shouldn't go forward without??

: ) Anne

Comments (12)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    18 years ago

Are you going to mulch the bed? That usually helps keep weeds down, soil moist and cooler. Add Sluggo on top of the mulch.

Some of us would have added a cocktail hour to your itinerary!

• username_5
    18 years ago

do you have a slug problem? If not then skip the sluggo. Also bear in mind that compost breaks down so the height it adds is temporary.

Consider mulching the bed once the plants are growing well to conserve moisture and reduce weeds.

Have fun!

• annewaldron
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Edited to include:
    - buy bag of mulch
    - pour a wee cocktail (I was going to include this in the original post, but didn't want to sound like the Garden Web lush!)

Yes, from what I understand, slugs ate just about everything that's ever been planted there before, but as God is my witness, they WILL go hungry this time!

• lindac
    18 years ago

Sounds good to me....but after all that I think you may have earned more than a "wee tiny" cocktail.....maybe a very tall Margarita?...Gotta stay hydrated don't ya know.
    Linda C

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    18 years ago