Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sheppy1_gw

Please Help Identify This Herb!!!

sheppy1
18 years ago

I am new to gardening and have recently moved into a new house. I am having trouble identifying this herb. If anyone knows it would be greatly appreciated.

Here is a link to four pictures.

http://public.fotki.com/FireEater4065/herbs/100_2134.html#

Thanks,

Sheppy1

Comments (12)

• username_5
    18 years ago

I am stumped. I was going to say flat leafed parsley, but then I took a look at mine and the leaves are too different.

• imadabbla
    18 years ago

Are you sure it's an herb? It kind of looks like a chrysanthemum to me. You should have a better idea soon when those blooms open.

• Patriz
    18 years ago

Looks like Artemisia, which ia an herb :)

• phyllis__mn
    18 years ago

I agree that it is a chrysanthemum. I just went out to check mine, and it seems to be identical.

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    18 years ago

It's definitely some form of chrysanthemum, possibly just a plain old garden mum, but I think it looks more like 'Sheffield Hillside Pink' or 'Clara Curtis' (sometimes called chrysanthemum, sometimes dendranthema). I have Sheffield and the foliage is identical. Here's a picture (in French!) that shows a little bit of the foliage near the flowers. They're both singles, and Clara is light pink and Sheffield is a light salmon pink--wait till the buds open to see if it's either of these.

Here is a link that might be useful: 'Clara Curtis'

• MargotJ
    18 years ago

When you rub the leaves what is the scent?

• sheppy1
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Hi everyone thanks for the replies. When I rub the leaves it almost reminds me of Vics Vapour Rub....My wife seconded that scent. I have not found any pictures so far of a chrysanthemum that I can say for sure that that is what it is!

Sheppy1

• username_5
    18 years ago