Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lylleee

Advice on removing Daylilies and replacing with another Perennial

Lylleee
12 years ago

I'm a newbie to gardening. I bought a house that has plants bordering 3 sides and most of them are Daylilies. The area is about 19" wide and extends 38'x30'x26'. The 38'portion is along a blacktop driveway. The Daylilies are overpowering the flower bed. Is there a way to thin them or kill just them and not harm the Rose bushes and other bushes? I like the Daylilies but they're too much for me to maintain. Also, I've gotten Poision Ivy a few times, as it is located in this bed and I have trouble identifying it. I'm scared of snakes and when this gets overgrown they're in it. I've lived here for 3 summers and each year I vow to learn how to take care of these plants. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Comments (9)

• lisanti07028
    12 years ago

Are they the orange "ditch lilies"? They can be thuggish. Why don't you just dig them up and toss them?

• Lylleee
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Lisanti - Thanks for your advice. They are orange like in ditches. Someone told me they are Daylilies. I started to dig them this spring (and I tossed most of them and gave a few to someone who really wanted some) but what a job! It got bushy before I could get it finished. I've learned lots since then!! Wondering about an easy to care for replacement. I think all the lilies must go or they're going to be popping up all the time! Now debating on going with rock and just using pots or keeping mulch in the bed and either planting or using pots.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    12 years ago