Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
average_gw

mulching

average
18 years ago

I hope my question isn't a silly one. I am very new at this. My soil dries out very quickly even after watering for long periods of time. I have decided to mulch but don't know how to go about it. Do I water first and then mulch, do I mulch first and then water. Please help as I am trying to save my rhododendron. It is all wilted and looks like it is going to die soon. Thanks in advance for any advice I may receive.

Comments (9)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    18 years ago

Either way - the water is going to go through the mulch to the soil, then evaporate more slowly than from bare dirt. Doesn't matter where you live or what your weather, a mulch is the cornerstone of growing healthy rhododendron - mulch of shredded leaves, pine needles, chips, bark or other organic material. I mulch my own beds with coarse compost. (Peat moss should not be used as a mulch because it sheds water when it dries out.) The coarser the mulch the better, as water and air are admitted while the mulch still retards evaporation by providing shade and reducing wind over the roots. A mulch also helps to reduce temperature extremes in the root area. (Use mulch on top of the root ball to help conserve water loss and as an insulating medium when the weather gets really cold too)

Do not use hard wood chips right out of the chipper because as they break down they will pull nitrogen out of the soil. 2-3" of mulch is more than adequate but be sure to pull the mulch away from the trunk of the plant - close is fine, just not physically touching.

• gardenergail
    18 years ago

average (interesting name),

MorZ8 hit the nail on the head. I will add that personally, I water well, then add mulch, then water again when I first apply mulch to an un-mulched bed, just to get it off to a good start. After that, watering is not needed as often.