Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amyheem

Easy to take care of plants

AmyHeem
18 years ago

Hi All,

I am new to gardening as my DH and I just moved out to the country. I am looking for some ideas for my front yard that are easy to take care of. I have killed most of the plants I have tried. I have limited time for upkeep, but currently I have a weed garden in front of my house that I have to get rid of.

Thank You in advance.

AmyHeem

Comments (12)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    18 years ago

Your question is very broad so it is difficult to answer with much detail. Care of plants and ease of growing has an awful lot to do with site conditions in addition to the choice of plants themselves. What we don't know is the light conditions (sun, shade or a combination), soil quality and drainage and what exactly you consider "easy to take care of".

With all these unknowns it's hard to be very specific, but there is a hierarchy of care/maintenance associated with various plants. In general, trees require less maintenance than shrubs, shrubs less maintenance than perennials and perennials less than annuals. And evergreens, either coniferous or broadleaved, tend to have fewer maintenance requirements than deciduous.

You might be best served by a visit to a good garden center or nursery close by. Ask for help in choosing plants that are disease resistant or not prone to insect problems and that are fully hardy for your zone without requiring winter protection. Site them in the correct amount of light according to their requirements and water carefully for the first season or two.