Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chadnliz_gw

want to relocate my plants when I move

chadnliz
18 years ago

This is my very first time posting.. Im moving to a new place, was wondering if I could take any of my plants with me (they come up every year) Oh also Im not that experienced with relocating plants once they are in the ground lol. I would love to take them with me. It is now Sept, is it okay to dig them up for the move? Some are daisy varieties.

Any input would be greatly appreciated thanx Liz

Comments (5)

• meldy_nva
    18 years ago

I think we need a few more details: when are you moving? how far away? how will the plants be transported? and, most importantly - which plants?

Many perennials take moving right in stride as long as they are dug when dormant and planted into a new home which provides all their needs (climate, soil, light). Shrubs can be a pain to move (both for the plant and for the gardener) since they have a more extensive root system -- however, taking cuttings is easy and efficient, but should have been done in late spring so as to use 'soft wood'. Some plants (such as baptisia) will not tolerate any attempt to move, often due to having a long taproot; so we really need to know which specific plants.

BTW, most daisy-types are soft perennials, and can be moved at almost anytime as long as their roots are not too disturbed (this means digging a large rootball which is heavy to transport); however, it is much easier to let the perennials go dormant, and then dig up and gently remove most excess soil; pack into moist sawdust and then transport. In all cases, the plants should be replanted as soon as possible into their new home, or into pots or a holding bed while the new bed is being prepared.

• triciae
    18 years ago