Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladyisz

Plant spacing

ladyisz
18 years ago

Hi all!

I feel very stupid asking about this, so please go easy on me. I'm pretty new to gardening on my own. I use my computer to make diagrams of my garden areas, along with little circles representing the plants I'm going to be planting. I move the circles around until I like the design, then I plant. I have shrubs, perennials, and annuals...

My problem is, I can't seem to get the spacing right! I get the spacing info off my seed packets, plant tags or online. It seems I'm always planting things too close together - maybe for fear of planting them too far apart so my garden doesn't look sparse. I don't mind the crowded "look" of the garden, but this is ridiculous! (Hahaha) Not to mention that I'm almost positive this is the cause of a couple of my plants' fungal infections.

Do you think part of my problem could be that I confuse spread with spacing sometimes? I just don't know. Do you all have any suggestions?

Comments (4)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    18 years ago

If you wish plants to eventually grow together so they look like they are unified, spread & spacing are the same.

Al

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    18 years ago

Ladyisz,

I enjoy your dilemna. Even after gardening for quite a few years, it is one which I still have... on occasion!

Plants grow differently in everyones garden and from one place to another. And what's on the packet or the tag may or may not apply to your gardens because of where you've placed the plant, the soil, sun exposure, etc.

So.... to solve your frustration, you might try a few tricks which I've used from time to time.
    - Check out gardens in your neighbourhood and make mental notes on how the plants grow. If you like something, ask questions about how that gardener gardens. Do they mulch? fertilize? Did they change the soil from what it was by adding topsoil? etc.