Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jen_gw

New Garden - Tips wanted

Jen
18 years ago

We are having some landscaping work done in the back yard including installing a small, mulch bed for plantings. Our property backs up to a forest and the area is on a slight hill.

I have little to no gardening experience but am hoping to take this on as a new project. Does anyone have any tips for me? Types of plants? How to get started? How to design the assortment of plants?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (7)

• lindac
    18 years ago

Don't let them put any landscape fabric under the mulch!
    Linda C

• susanzone5 (NY)
    18 years ago

Buy a beginning gardening book at a garden center to get the basics...soil, light, fertility, etc. Then read a lot here on Gardenweb. Start small, with easy plants (do a search in the forums). We all learn by experience, and even the most experienced are still making mistakes along with discoveries, so don't try to get it perfect the first year. You can always add on.

Find someone on your street with a nice garden and ask questions. Most gardeners love to share. If you have specific questions, just ask here.

• Luvmyboyz
    18 years ago

Great tips! What happens if they put landscape fabric under the mulch?

• username_5
    18 years ago

Landscape fabric is designed to keep weeds from growing through the mulch.

Some of it is cheap stuff that degrades in a season, some lasts a few years and some lasts nearly forever.

The problems with it are that some of it doesn't allow any oxygen or moisture through it and so the ground underneath gets in bad shape. Another problem is that over the seasons organic material settles on top of it and breaks down into compost which weeds will grow in.