Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wizfan90

New to Gardening

wizfan90
11 years ago

Hello All,

I am new to gardening. Over the summer I decided that while I took classes at the local community college, that I would begin a landscaping project as a tribute to my father who passed. He was very good at landscaping as well. But as I was tilling the ground and planting new flowers I actually became interested in gardening. I have become so interested that I decided to purchase some seeds and grow my own flowers because some the plants that I would purchase at the local Home Depot and Lowes. I've actually been frequenting the site since July, and decided that I would make a profile since everyone seems to be very helpful in the community and was hoping I could benefit from it and also help someone else.

These are the seeds I purchased:

-Hyssop

-Rose

-Delphinium

-Brown Eyed Susan

-Swan River Daisy

-African Cape Daisy

-White Zulu

-Prince Cape Daisy

-Orange Price Cape Daisy

-Gloriosa Indian Summer

-Garland Crown Daisy

-Blue Salvia

-Burgundy Sun Blanket

-Yellow Sun Blanket

-Red Bee Balm

-English Lavender

-Lupines

-Purple Cone Flower

-Ruby Cone Flower

-Tangerine Dream Conflower

-Shasta Daisy

-Evening Sun Sunflower

Does anyone have any advice on how to plant/care for these?

I was looking into winter sowing them in 16 oz. bottles and milk cartons and other containers but if anyone has any suggestion I'm ears.

Thank you again!!!

Comments (4)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago

That's quite a big bite for a beginner gardener! I believe that, if I were you, I'd start at the top of your list and do your homework one by one. Make notes of amount of sunlight needed, water requirements, size at maturity (height and spread), flowering time, known insect and disease problems. Be sure to visit several websites for each plant.