Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hauer277

How do I grow Poppies

hauer277
18 years ago

I am new to gardening and live in new york. I want to grow poppies. When is the best time to grow poppies? If I plant them in September when should I expect them to bloom? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (7)

• susanzone5 (NY)
    18 years ago

There are a few ways to grow poppies. First of all, what kind are you thinking about? There are perennial poppies and annual types, too.

The orientals which are permanent and come back each spring (perennial), can be bought at the garden center in spring. The annual types grow from seed each year and die when the summer gets hot. They're basically a spring plant in New York.

You can spread the seed on top of the soil at the end of winter/early spring. The seed is small and has to be on top of the soil. It also needs cold weather for germination (sprouting). In nature, the seeds fall from the plant in summer and sprout when the weather gets cold, blooming in spring.

If you go to the winter sowing forum, they will show you how to sow the seed outdoors in containers over winter...a method which works well with poppies. Really, they are easy plants, and there is so much variety to choose from.

• clairdo2
    18 years ago

I have perennial poppies but only get 3 or 4 blooms a year. what am i doing wrong?

• hauer277
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I am trying to grow Papaver Somniferum (Not sure of the spelling). I am confused as to when to plant and when to expect the flowers to bloom. If I plant now will they come up in spring? What is the difference or advantages of planting now as opposed to planting in the spring? If I plant in the spring when should I expect them to bloom? Anything in particular that I should know about?

• Rosa
    18 years ago

Susan has give you some great advise.