Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yellowbell_gw

Frustrated With My Gardening

yellowbell
18 years ago

Hello,

I'm pretty new to gardening - I've only been doing it for the past three years. The first two years I expected my garden not to look "great" because I was just learning. But now I'm starting to get frustrated that I can't get my garden to look how I imagine it.

I imagine having a garden that looks lush, yet carefree (maybe cottage-y?), where there are not gaps, or at least not huge ones. The problem is, I start out with good intentions, and then my garden ends up looking sparse with big spaces between plants. I like to plant a lot of things from seed, not only because it's cheaper, but because I think it's fun. Also, there are some annuals that you can't buy. So I leave plenty of room for those to germinate. Then I end up waiting too long, only to find out that they won't germinate. Then I have nothing to fill that space.

Sorry for rambling, but does anyone have any tips for me on how to get my garden to look like what I imagine? Am I being too impatient or too cheap (as in not buying enough plants)? Or am I just being too picky about what my garden looks like?

Comments (16)

• pitimpinai
    18 years ago

Hmmm. Gardening takes a lot of patience. Instant gratification is not for gardeners, unless you have oodles of $ to have it tailored and prefabricated. But what fun is that?

It is good to plan well from the beginning, but many factors such as soil condition, climate and the change of weather play important roles as well.

I don't think you are too cheap. If you want your garden to look full while waiting for perennials and shrubs to grow, (you have shrubs, don't you? If not add a few for structure and winter interest.) scatter annuals seeds among them, then watch them grow. I am not familiar with your climate, but I use these easy and self sowing annuals to fill in the gaps:

-Larkspur
    -Snow-on-the mountain - Euphorbia marginata
    -Feverfew