Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
celia_gw

Getting ready for next spring

Celia
18 years ago

I'm just starting out here, and trying out my hopefully green thumb. I love flowers, great scents, birds, and butterflies. I'm trying to draw the wildlife more into the yard. Get this, I live on a mountain, and the birds don't seem to like my yard. There are woods all around, but it's like there's a forcefield around my yard. I have a small rose bed of 7, some gladiolas, irises, & fresia around the house that seem to be doing okay, and a couple different trees, but I would love to do something with rest of my yard. Is there anything that I can do now to get ready for spring, and what can I get? Also, my soil is clayish and a little rocky; most is in east TN. Can anyone give me any pointers?

Comments (7)

• pitimpinai
    18 years ago

I live in the city and I do get a lot of birds in my garden. I put up several bird feeders, birthbaths (just old pots and pans) and have several plants that attract birds. These plants were chosen for my own pleasure, but unbeknownst to me, they are attractive to birds, bees and butterflies as well:

- Bushes/shrubs for shelter
    -Echinecea
    -Rudbeckia
    -Asters
    -Viburnum - the native kinds with berries that birds love
    -Phlox
    -ornamental grass
    -Sunflowers
    -Beautyberries - Callicarpa
    -Snowberries
    -Cosmos
    -Liatris spicata
    -Caryopteris
    -Weigela
    -Buddleia - Butterfly bush
    -Salvia
    -Veronica
    -Agastache
    -Verbena
    -Asclepia
    -Solidago
    -Sedum
    -Scabiosa
    -Lamb's ear
    -Physostegia
    -Perovskia
    -Penstemon
    -Monarda
    -Lamium
    -Lavender
    -Honeysuckle
    -Helenium
    -Heuchera
    -Geranium - hardy
    -Gaillardia
    -Echinops
    -Eryngium
    -Eupatorium
    -Erigeron
    -Dianthus
    -Larkspur
    -Coreopsis
    -Aguilegea
    -Achillea