Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hiswifemomof2

Newer than new...how do I learn?

hiswifemomof2
18 years ago

I have always been terribly intimidated by plants. I've killed anything I've touched. Of course, I don't know what I am doing. Now, I have a beautiful front/back yard, which was done professionally, but I want to feel the pride of caring for them myself. I want to look out and enjoy the "fruit of my labor" as I nurture and help them grown healthy. Where do I go to learn? Good books?

I tried to find out how to prune Knock out Roses, but I found that the terms used, such as "wood" didn't mean much to me, so I still don't know how to prune them.

Is time to fertilize and I don't know if you use the same kind of fertizer for all shrubs and trees?

Any suggestions regarding a good place to start educating myself would be fantastic.

Thanks!

Comments (17)

• mamimo
    18 years ago

Hi and welcome! I'm a newbie too and have found the Gardenweb to be a wonderful community.

Other resources I've found useful are the various websites of university extension office , for example in Georgia, one possibility would be

http://www.caes.uga.edu/extension/homegarden.html

You may already know about these, but anyway, I've found the book "Clueless in the garden" by Yvonne Cunnington to be a nice, gentle intro for newbies. She also has a website. "Well-tended perennial garden" by Tracy DiSabato-Aust is a good book on pruning and planting. It has clear, helpful pictures on how to prune. The local library might carry these titles and many other good gardening books.

Have fun gardening and if something dies on you, it's ok. I'm trying to be less hysterical about my failures myself. Someone once said--it'll be a great excuse to go get another plant!

• username_5
    18 years ago

First, dont be intimidated by plants, they are easier than you think to grow.