Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ellenr22

Vegetable nurseries in New Jersey

Hi all,

We've had many threads about nurseries in NJ, but as I recall they were not predominantly vegetable nurseries. Or maybe vegies are sold in different places than flowers?

This is my first year (after gardening with flowering plants and herbs for 7 years) to be growing vegies.

So any suggestions about good places to buy vegie plants?

Particularly in or near central Jersey (middlesex county)

thanks,

ellen

Comments (13)

• yourpal
    15 years ago

They're not open for business yet but...

Dreyer Farm
    831 Springfield Ave.
    Cranford (Next to Union County College)
    (908) 276-1290

• ellenh
    15 years ago

For a huge selection of tomatoes, peppers, and eggplants along with some other stuff - try Cross Country Nursery in Kingwood (near Flemington). The really specialize in pepper plants and are also available by mail order.

• JArnold
    15 years ago

Close to your area is Miele Green House in Clark A good assortment of all kind of healthy plants at a reasonable price. Why do you not plant seeds? Most vegetable seeds germinate in less than 10 days. Lettuce, carrots and radishes can be planted April 1st. To get a head start, buy broccoli, cauliflower and brussel sprout plants.

• aubade
    15 years ago

I'm just a newbie and haven't been to any of the other places suggested, but last year I went to Brock Farms in Freehold and thought the selection was pretty awesome. I got 3 types of tomatoes, jalapeno, cayenne, habanero, italian & orange bell peppers, herbs, cucumber, & zuchinni squash and they all grew wonderfully. I can also add that my friend who is a Master Gardener was also impressed with their selection. They have another location in Colts Neck too that I haven't been to yet.

Here is a link that might be useful: http://brockfarms.com/

• hunt4carl
    15 years ago

Aubade - if you're looking for vegetable starters in the