Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gzec

Which bulbs to plant

gzec
19 years ago

Hello

I am in somerset county. I am wondering which bulbs would be the best to purchase and plant in full sun, that will not be loved by my frequent visitors (squirrels and deer).

Please keep it simple, I am a beginner.

Thanks

Comments (9)

• wardw
    19 years ago

Among the big bulbs are daffodils. If I were just starting out I'd buy small packages of a bunch of different kinds and keep the labels over the winter. The reason you should keep the labels is there is no way to know from the pictures which ones you will end up liking, and because foliage is so long lasting, big plantings spend more time ugly than in bloom. For me their worth it, because ones like thallia and poet's narcissus are so flat out beautiful, I wouldn't be without then, plus deer won't touch them. All of the minor bulbs are worth trying, like siberian squill and snow drops, and a dozen others. Avoid grape hyacinth, no matter how good the photos look. You get tons a foliage that won't quit ever, and it will be with you until the day you die or move. The only other advice is don't plant any bulbs where water tends to stand, since water will kill most bulbs even quicker than deer. And another thing, don't give up. It takes year to discover what is both pleasing and will grow in your yard. Every yard is different, and gardener is in some sense always a beginner, even in their 90th year.

• ladychroe
    19 years ago

Check out this web page on squill! I've never planted it, so I can't comment personally, but apparently it can take over your garden.

http://www.mailbag.com/users/mnofsing/scilla.html

Here is a link that might be useful: The Menace of Siberian Squill

• fivenot2many
    19 years ago

Hello all...I am wondering as a newbie gardener...are the deer going to eat up all my emerging bulbs no matter what I do unless they happen to be the ones they don't like.???YIKES!

• axeman
    19 years ago