Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladychroe

Missing snowdrops and anenomes

ladychroe
19 years ago

This is my first year as a homeowner, and last fall I went bulb crazy! I planted snowdrops, crocus, daffodils, tulips and anenomes. The crocus have been blooming and they are such a joy. The daffys and tulips are on their way. But I haven't seen any snowdrops or anenomes, and those were the ones I was most excited about - I don't think I've ever seen them before. Has anyone else had success growing these flowers in Somerset County, NJ?

Also, I'm going to be ordering shrubs and seeds this spring. What are everybody's favorite catalogs and/or websites, or is there a good place in the Somerville area to go?

Glad to have found this forum! Lotsa good stuff here!

Comments (10)

• mprats
    19 years ago

I planted snowdrops last fall and they did come up and started blooming two weeks ago. Are you sure you remember where you planted them exactly?

• ladychroe
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Yep, I remember where I planted them - there's a large bald spot in the flower bed. I hear they are hard to establish. I'll try again next season; it seems like everybody here gets so much joy out of those little white flowers so eager to come up through the snow.

And maybe I should try NOT buying them at Home Depot next year. Hey, sorry, but we are new to the area!

My daffies are short, only 5" tall, but they have large buds on them already. Hope they're not jumping the gun, seems like mine are the only ones on the block with buds on them already.

Thanks anyway! And everybody, let me know if anyone has had success growing anenomes in Somerset County. The flowers on the package were so vivid and pretty.

• birdgardner
    19 years ago

go to NJ Botanical Gardens ( a nursery) on Duke Pkwy West, if they open this year. My all time favorite nursery. Small plants low prices unusual plants. try them in mid april

• Annie_nj
    19 years ago