Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pianoboy

Mulch/Organic gardening supplies in Central NJ

pianoboy
15 years ago

Im a noob to this forum, thanks for everyone's helpful posts.

I live in Lawrenceville (Mercer County) and am trying to figure out what to use as a mulch this season. A few years ago I had a landscaper use wood mulch, and do not want to use this method again - I now do . This is not only for my perennial beds, but for a soon-to-be raised vegetable garden as well.

Has anyone had any experience using the free compost provided from the Lawrenceville environmental dept., or something similar in your area?

In addition, if anyone has any suggestions for good organic fertilizers/mulch in the Central NJ area (PA is fine, too) I'd appreciate it. Thanks in advance, folks.

Comments (3)

• JArnold
    15 years ago

I wouldd not use wood mulch in my vegetable garden. It is better used around shrubs and perennials.

For vegetables.................Use the grass clippings from your lawn. The clippings can be used in the pathways between plants at any time. Use the grass clippings around tomatoes after the fruit has formed.

Two to three inches of grass clippings discourage most weeds and as a side benefit, fertilize your garden and keeps the clippings out of the trash areas.

• coffeeheidi
    15 years ago

Can I ask why no wood mulch for veggies? :-)