Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
unitedmarsupials

Jasmine in NJ?

doofus
15 years ago

Hello!

I'd love to plant and grow fragrant jasmine around the property, but somebody told me, NJ weather is too harsh for the multi-year jasmine varieties...

Is that really true, or is there a frost-resistant strand I can buy, that would smell good for most of the summer and survive the winter?

Thanks a lot!

Comments (12)

• smord
    15 years ago

There is somethign called "winter jasmine" (Jasminum nudiflorum) that is hardy to zone 6, although I have no experience with it. Try Brushwood Nursery http://www.gardenvines.com/shop/

I have no experience buying from them, but they answered my questions pretty quickly, they have good reviews on Daves Garden, and they are based in Pennsylvania so they probably have a pretty good idea of what would survive a NJ winter.

-Sarah zone 6 (Morris County)

• tinylady
    15 years ago

Do you know about growing heather in NJ. I saw it at a nursery and was wondering about it.

• steve_nj
    15 years ago

The yellow foliaged Jasminum officinale 'Fiona Sunrise'(also called 'Frojas') does well for me outdoors. I'll have a rooted plant or 2 at the swap on May 3rd, as well as 2 varieties of Jasminum nudiflorum with variegated foliage which I've propagated.

• tinylady
    15 years ago

Does anyone know about planting heather? Or the other name is Heath? The man at the nursurey said it was what they grow in Nj, but I can't find anyone else growing it.

• shanthipavan
    14 years ago

hi can anyone give me jasmine, rose ,hibiscus or rose plants

• steve_nj
    14 years ago

Heaths and heathers do well in sun and well-drained soil. Sandy loam is ideal. Use google for mailorder sources.

• doofus
    Original Author
    13 years ago