Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mikalle

looking for a Gardening mentor

Mikalle
12 years ago

hi, I am in the process of completely redoing our yard here in Woodbridge New Jersey. the backyard measures 70 feet x 40 feet. I've installed a 12' x 17' pond with Two level waterfall, in the process of creating 5 stone block raised garden beds of various sizes and this summer I will be creating gravel paths throughout the yard and around the pond.

My dilemma is that I have no idea what plants I should be putting in the raised beds or around the pond or anywhere else in the yard for that matter. No idea where to buy plants, do I go with local nurseries or the home centers? the 4 bushes purchased at Lowes last year all died. I can supply photos of the yard with dimensions if that would help, her really need help laying out what to plant, where and when.

Thanks for any suggestions,

Mike

Comments (3)

• shar77
    12 years ago

Hello -
    I'm not an expert, but I've been working on my yard slowly in Northern New Jersey and here are some things that worked for me.

I buy plants from Home Depot mainly, with good success. I also have been buying from www.springhillnursery.com - believe it or not they ship so nicely. They also have a lot of youtube how-to videos that I like about dividing plants and things like that.

1. I took a good photo of my yard and put it on my computer, then looked up plants for my zone online and moved the pictures around on top of my yard to see what it might look like. I use Powerpoint for this.

2. I used available plants that are already in my yard. I had daffodils springing up in odd places, so I spent some time digging them up carefully and transplanted them grouped together. Free flowers!

3. Hostas seems very tolerant and easy to work with. They are hard to kill, it seems. Mine don't mind too much or too little water-they are in a funny spot and do well.