Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spotts_gw

Lilacs

Spotts
19 years ago

I am interested in planting lilacs in my backyard which gets plenty of afternoon sun. I was thinking of buying one online but was unsure where would be the best place to get one. I also live near Platts farm but I am unsure if they sell any...

Does anyone have any experience about growing lilacs that could give me a couple of tips. I am kind of new to gardening but my wife really likes the smell of them and we have a perfect spot in our yard.

appreciate any help!

Comments (15)

• wardw
    19 years ago

Try to find hybrids - ones the don't create millions of seeds. Most nurserys carry lilacs, the problem might be finding someone at a particular nursery who can tell you which kinds are sterile. If they're not, you could end up like me, with a 60 foot row of seedlings. I sure in the shrub forum you could find several experts who can name good varieties.

• Spotts
    Original Author
    19 years ago

wardw,
    Thanks for the advice. I am currently trying my luck in the shrub forum.

• Annie_nj
    19 years ago

I would recommend you buy one in bloom. I understand that different varieties have different degrees of fragrance. I have a nice white one, and it has a nice fragrance, but not a knock-your-sox-off fragrance. The best is to find someone who has a beautiful lilac you love, and see if they would share a piece of it.

• Donna534
    19 years ago

Platts does sell lilacs. I have bought a few from them and they have great prices. Keep in mind the year after you plant it you won't get many blooms, if any, but the following year will be great. Good luck!

• Dilip_Nisraiyya
    19 years ago

Compare to HomeDepot & Lows, Walmart's cost of Lilac (for similar size plants) is 20 to 30% less.

• karen64
    19 years ago

Some get mildew in our area. Miss Kim does very well in our humidity. I would go with a mildew resistant variety.

• Dolli
    19 years ago