Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunruner

Help... southern transplant to NJ

Sunruner
18 years ago

Hi all. I moved from the south up here and need help on planting stuff.

I have a small area that will get full sun. I have a lot more that just get partial. I have a front area that will get mostly shade. I'm wanting to grow tomatoes, spinach, strawberries, a few herbs like basil and chives. Maybe a few melon types and other things. I'm trying to get a feel on when to plant, what works well in this area, etc.

Any chance you can force Avacados to grow around here? Even indoors during the winter? Also, which of these can I bring inside during the winter and keep them going year round? Most of my stuff will be planted in containers tho I could plant in the ground a bit too.

Please note that I am completely new to this so explain as much as you can please.

Comments (7)

• Sunruner
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Oh yeah... may help to know I'm in Somerset County. Also, how do you STOP the deer? Other than firearms. :)

• Birdsong72
    18 years ago

Have you tried to work your soil yet?? Somerset is almost all red clay. I hope that your property is on old farm land.

Deer are the biggest problem facing gardners in NJ.

• Annie_nj
    18 years ago

Welcome to Jersey!

Since you are a beginner, with young children, you need to start with a small garden. You should check out the soil forum, for they will give you time saving hints. Such as, mulch will help suppress weeds, reduce the need for watering, and improve your soil.