Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
farfalla_nj

Possible Milkweed problem

farfalla_nj
18 years ago

Hello all!

I am new to this site. I am a preschool teacher in Paramus NJ who is raising monarch butterflies in my classroom.

I have a possible problem with one of my milkweed plants. Before I offer any of the leaves to the caterpillars I wanted to find out if this problem is detrimental to the "cats"... There are little brown balls resembling seeds all over the plant. What is this? Any insight would be of enormous help. Thank you all

~Hope

Comments (7)

• tracey_nj6
    18 years ago

The only problem I have with milkweed is oleander aphids. A picture might help, or try posting on the Butterfly and/or Pest forum. I have Asclepias plants and seedlings, and no pests yet ;)

• tracey_nj6
    18 years ago

LOL; I see you've already gone to the Butterfly forum. They really know their stuff over there...

• farfalla_nj
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thank You for your response Tracey!
    I posted my question in the butterfly forum first... But I could not resist a forum full of Jersey Girls (and guys presumably lol)
    I read in your profile that you are attracting hummers. I am sure you already have these.. but just in case.. Huechera Purple Palace are hummer magnets in my garden. I also find that they love my privet bushes when they are in bloom.
    So glad I had a bug problem on my milkweed. This is a wonderful web site.

Best,
    Hope

• tracey_nj6
    18 years ago

Hi Hope! I've been here for years, and it's got to be the only website that I faithfully view daily.
    I'm wondering if I have a Purple Palace; aw, what the heck, I can always purchase another ;)
    I did see a hummer on Mothers Day, at 7:40pm! I thought it was a leaf blowing around in the wind, until I got a really good look. I haven't seen it since :( Since I saw my first in July last year, when everything was blooming, I'll assume that's when I'll see them again.