Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
njtea

Another deer repellant

njtea
16 years ago

A few weeks ago, I posted about Deer Scram and how well it has worked keeping the deer out of the wild currants.

Now, I've got another good story:

I've been using Deer Stopper for about 2 years and it, too, has done a good job but needs to be reapplied more often than Deer Scram. It's a spray rather than granular.

This afternoon I went to the garden to get some peas for dinner - and found that last night the deer had walked right through the tomatoes, which I had sprayed with Deer Stopper, to the peas which had not been sprayed - and cleaned me out of peas-to-be. The tomatoes are untouched.

In another garden area, they ate goldenrod that was growing alongside a patch of daylilies but left the lilies alone

Comments (8)

• Loretta NJ Z6
    16 years ago

Did I miss the story about the deer scram? How do you go about obtaining deer scram? Lol!
    I haven't had a problem with deer yet but they are not far. My neighbor across the street informed me he saw one in his next door neighbor's yard recently. Then he proceeds to tell me he chased it away, telling it there was much more to eat in my yard! So the deer runs across the street toward my house. Fortunately, he went to my neighbors yard instead (which is barren after an addition). Needless to say, I didn't find it humorous.

• weedwoman
    16 years ago

Ah, yes, the neighbors. My neighbor, with great excitement, told me how he called the our other neighbor and they both spent 20 minutes watching the beautiful deer eat my hostas. Aaaaagh....

WW

• pieheart
    16 years ago

What I wouldn't give for only one deer...............take my two dozen.....please!

I've had good luck with Deer Out. The only time I've had browsing is when I was late with reapplication (about every 4-6 weeks during the growing season). Or I planted something and forgot to spray it. Smells pepperminty.

• Loretta NJ Z6
    16 years ago