Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mhazelton_gw

Any ideas?? (Pictures Included)

mhazelton
15 years ago

I have this open area next to my front porch and right where my mailbox is located. I get full sun and shade. I have tried planting pansies here, but they always die. I think the soil needs a flower/plant/grass that is hearty and tolerant. I was thinking of a rock garden, but I am a garden novice and have no clue on where to start. Also, what would be good to plant here for future blooms?

I would really appreciate it!!

Comments (5)

• bogey123
    15 years ago

how about some type of container garden?

• tracey_nj6
    15 years ago

Full sun and shade? Sorry if I sound confused ;)
    Mailbox planting can be a touchy subject. I know most people want something bright & constantly blooming, but postal workers might be happier dealing with little to no wasps & bees.
    Pansies? Generally I don't grow them, but, did decide to do 2 hanging windowboxes on my front railings. Well, they died off already, and there's no sign of them coming back. So, you're not the only one that has problems with those, LOL! I'd love to say sedum, if the bed is indeed full sun, but they're wasp/bee magnets, which I love (well, no so much the wasps). I have loads of sedum, just about in every bed in my garden. Plus, I leave them up all winter; I love the look of the dead blooms poking up through the snow. They're happier when neglected. Daylilies fit that bill too. Rudbeckia & echinacea, again, bee magnets, but goldfinches love them too.
    Some Arum italicum would provide pretty winter foliage, but during their bloom time, the berry stalks they produce are nothing to look, so that's one plant to rule out looking nice during the summer, since the foliage disappears.
    I could ramble all day long, sorry!

• ellenh
    15 years ago