Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
herman_neutics

mangled and/or mutilated?

herman_neutics
9 years ago

We have a family house in Cape May where i have been working on the garden since 1998. Recently my sister said she was going to give the landscape people a call and have them thin out and trim the plants.

last week I finally made it down and I was horrified by what I saw.

Am i over reacting? the topped plants are a pair of Juniperus rigida with Quercus myrsinifolia in between. The other pics are Pinus bungeana, and camellia japonica. They also "pruned" pawpaws and osmanthus, Pinus thunbergii with the same degree of incompetence.

The topping action on the junipers and oak was the most painful to observe. I started thos plants as 14-18 inch lil whips about 12 years ago.

Tearing the bark while making cuts on the pinus bungeana is so sloppy and incompetent. The work on P. Thunbergii was a hack job too. I believe that it is not a good practice to prune these plants in summer because of problems with beetles.

I'm sickened.

I've never spoken to the "landscaper" before but now it's urgent that i have a talk. Wondering how other folks would handle this type of situation.

Comments (16)

• herman_neutics
    Original Author
    9 years ago

quercus myrsinifolia

• herman_neutics
    Original Author
    9 years ago

three topped plants

• herman_neutics
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Pinus bungeana

• herman_neutics
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Camellia japonica

This is/was the cultivar 'April Dawn' Thisplant was about 8-9 feet tall.

Planted in 2000-2001

• herman_neutics
    Original Author
    9 years ago

this gives an idea of the plants before topping. You can see one of the junipers and the oak on the left side of the walk way

This post was edited by herman_neutics on Thu, Aug 28, 14 at 10:05

• herman_neutics
    Original Author
    9 years ago