Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sugar_magnolia_gw

Kyushu Hydrangea, Magnolia Macrophyllia (sp)

sugar_magnolia
18 years ago

I have a patio that is roughly 10" wide and I am wondering which of these two trees I should plant next to it. I want to create some shade for the patio. We have an unmbrella table there and it gets full sun all day. The patio is adjacent to the house, so the tree would be about 10' off the house. It is an area that has rich, moist, well drained soil.

Which ever tree I don't plant next to the patio will go about 10' off a small abouve ground pool. The area has full sun all day and the soil is a bit drier than the other location. There is a little more wind exposure there, too.

The magnolia is a sapling and I've read that it is slow to grow -- whatever s-l-o-w means. The hydrangea is a pretty decent sized specimen.

Any advice appreciated -- I am a novice! I often put plants in only to later have to move them around. Would like to avoid doing this with a tree!!!

Comments (4)

• Loretta NJ Z6
    18 years ago

Moving plants around is the name of the game! I am always rearranging plants! That is what happens when you plant things you don't know. Anyway, half the time the tag and catalog sizes don't work out.
    Magnolia Macrophyllia is not a tree I am familiar with but it is suppose to get to 40-60'. So you decide if you want that 10' from the house or pool! I don't know how many years that would take. Your best bet is on the tree forum. Michael Dirr writes that it is a difficult plant to mix in with the home landscape because of the large leaf texture but I would take that with a grain of salt. He mentions its best on a campus or some lawn type setting. Maybe this could be your curb-side tree? Do you like raking 3' leaves in the fall? Lol! My husband would bring it up any chance he got. Is it a hazard for bike riders? Could make an interesting garland maybe but who has time for that.