Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jel48

Quiet Place in January - Any rose recommendations?

jel48
19 years ago

Hi All, This is my first time visiting the 'northern gardening' forum and it looks like I picked a really really slow time of year :-)

I'm really not all that far north, zone 4 bordering on zone 3, but I've killed a lot of rose bushes in my time, because I'm not good at babying them for the winter. Does anyone have recommendations of hardy roses that don't take a lot of babying? It's time to start thinking about spring :-)

Comments (13)

• kerstin_swe
    19 years ago

Well you can take a look here I have a really cold climat zone :)Some are cultivated in pots -krukodling in SWe
    But I dont baby my outside roses either

Here is a link that might be useful: Some of my roses

• cailinriley
    19 years ago

Joyce, check out the Far North forum. Most of the members there garden in zones 4 and under. (And, we never seem to have a slow time of year!)

Kerstin, those roses are gorgeous. It's nice to see some that were bred in Canada in your garden! I'm tempted to try some Austen roses, but my garden is quite a bit colder than yours...and we have chinooks to complicate matters.

• kerstin_swe
    19 years ago

I love the Canadian roses and have a special album just for them

Here is a link that might be useful: canadian roses

• cailinriley
    19 years ago

What a collection you have, Kerstin! I have a few of the same. I especially love Winnipeg Parks, Adelaide Hoodless, John Davis and Morden Sunset. I also love William Baffin. I've been trying to grow it as a small climber, but the plant often gets winter die-back. The only Canadian rose I've tried that I'm not fond of is Martin Frobisher. It has gorgeous blooms and smells lovely, but the flowers look like wet tissue after a rain!! Too much deadheading required!

Joyce, any of the roses in Kerstin's Canadian album would grow well for you in your area.

• tom__alaska
    19 years ago