Return to the Northern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
seedling in an unheated greenhouse

Posted by glazed 5b (My Page) on
Wed, Feb 18, 09 at 12:47

I have built a small 8 x 8 unheated greenhouse and was wanting to put some of my seedlings inside. I am going to be growing all the basic veggies and flowers but I have also started some celeriac and jicama and I am wondering when to put them in the greenhouse. I was thinking that the onions, broccoli, napa cabbage, pansies could go inside the greenhouse now, also when can I put the marigolds, peppers etc out? I have never used a greenhouse before so needless to say I am very excited but don't want to get to eager an mess it all up. Any info would be helpful and most appreciated. Thank you and sorry if this is not the right place to post this message, I really couldn't find a forum that best described what I was trying to do. One other note, I start all my seedlings in the individual peat pellets that I swear by. Thanks again.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: seedling in an unheated greenhouse

The greenhouse is unheated so you will have to know at what outside temperature the greenhouse will stay above freezing. On a windy night, the greenhouse will lose heat faster. I have an unheated sunroom attached to the house. I determined I have about a 12-15 degree buffer from the outside temp in the spring.

As to when to put plants in there will depend somewhat on the temperature the greenhouse can maintain at night. While most will tolerate cold temps, the warm season crops, like tomato, won't like it. I would wait on warm season crops until the greenhouse can maintain temperatures above 45 or so at night.

Make sure to be able to vent on a sunny day. Overheating can also damage the plants. Our closed, unused greenhouses at work are already getting into the 90's on sunny days.

Vent on cloudy days if the greenhouse feels very humid, the plant foliage is wet or there is a lot of condensation or dripping.

o