Return to the Northern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Clematis from seed

Posted by GreenThumbsGalore z5 OH (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 11, 05 at 21:33

Although I'm a landscaper and a Master Gardener, I've never started Clematis from seed before. I was fortunate this summer to have gotten permission to harvest seeds from several of my client's Clematis but I don't have a clue as to how to grow them. Any suggestions or pointers? Does it matter what cultivars they are from? Something tells me it would have been easier to take stem cuttings instead of the seeds. HIndsight can be such a pain...

Becki
zone 5

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Clematis from seed

Clematis alpina, campaniflora, flammula, heracleifolia, integrifolia, macropetala, paniculata, potaninii, tangutica, and terniflora , Sow at 20C (68F), if no germination in 3-4 wks, move to -4 to +4C (24-39F) for 2-4 wks

Clematis columbiana, Sow outdoors late fall for 91% germ. in May/June. Indoor sowing in light at 20C (70F) should result in 50% germ. over the period of 2 to 10 weeks.

Clematis fremontii , Sow outdoors immediately after seeds ripen in midsummer. Germination begins in late fall.

Clematis occidentalis, Sow at 4C (39F) for 8 wks, move to 19C (65F) oscillating with cooler temps. at night.

Clematis mandschurica, recta, vitalba, and viticella , Sow at 18-22C (64-71F) for 2-4 wks, move to -4 to +4C (24-39F) for 4-6 wks, move to 5-12C (41-53F) for germination

Clematis virginiana , Sow at 20C (68F), germination slow

Here is a link that might be useful: Tom Clothier

o

Sharon, i bought Clematis ligusticifolia from Gardens North. Their instructions say "Sow and place at warm and high humidity. Germination should start in 2-8 weeks and continue, in a staggered fashion, over many weeks more."

o

I'm not disagreeing with anyone for a couple of reasons:
1) I'm very new to growing from seed
2) I think I've just been very lucky.

I'm just telling you my experience so far: