Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dbmcdavit

Please help a first-time veggie gardener!

AboutToGetDusty
11 years ago

Hi, I'm new to the garden part of gardenweb (but have been helped tremendously by the kitchen folks). I want to a buy a raised garden planter for the patio and have the little ones plant a small veggie/herb garden.

Something like this - http://www.plowhearth.com/american-made-rustic-elevated-garden-bed_p415421_s2008_d3004_c1204.html.

We're in NJ. Any advice on what to plant, when and how? I've planted flowers and basil before, but never attempted something like this. Thanks so much for your help!

Comments (6)

• dowlinggram
    11 years ago

Children love to garden and this is a good idea but you have to choose your plants carefully because that planter is not too deep

You can't plant things like potatoes or tomatoes or peppers they have too big a root. Anything on a vine would take too much room

I suggest a couple of plants of royal burgundy beans. They will be amazed when those wine colored beans turn bright green when they are cooked. You would have to buy a package of seeds but the rest can be planted in your flower beds or saved in a cool dry dark place for another year. Plant them when all danger of frost is past
    A few radish because they are fast growers and if they like salads a bit of lettuce. You want them to plant things they like to eat
    You could also have a couple of strawberry plants. You can buy mature ones from a nursery that will fruit this year
    As for herbs basil is a good one because it is an annul

If you have a nursery nearby that grows their own plants you can get helpful advice of what to get. You don't get that at big box stores.

• AboutToGetDusty
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks so much. What about carrots?
    What kind of raised planter would work for tomatoes? My kids are begging to grow them. What about grape or cherry tomatoes?

• dowlinggram
    11 years ago