Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbie_gardener_3

tried and true favourites?

newbie_gardener_3
19 years ago

Good Day!

This is my first ever attempt at a garden..so lets see how it goes!

I live in between North Bay and Sudbury (ONT) which i believe is a zone 3a? I am having loads of fun starting all kinds of seeds (flowers and veggies). But, I dont have enough seeds (or window space to start anymore seeds) to fill up my gardens (I have one in the front and one in the back of the house). Can anyone in this area recommend any good plants to put in my garden that are a good match for this area? Since I'l be buying the rest of my flowers as already started plants from Canadian Tire or a similar garden center, and I am a university student, the less expensive, the better :P I am a little concerned of buying a bunch of plants and them all dying on me.

So if anybody has any 'tried and true' favourites for this area, I'd love to hear them!! And I've had a blast reading all the older posts! Nice to meet everyone!

Andie

Comments (8)

• Pudge 2b
    19 years ago

I'll just mention that there are a lot of annual plants that could be started from seed, direct sown in the garden. Certainly cheaper that buying bedding out plants. Sunflowers, Bachelor Buttons, Sweet Peas, Poppies as well as many others all can be seeded direct into the garden.

• marciaz3 Tropical 3 Northwestern Ontario
    19 years ago

Andie, there's still time for winter sowing. Check out the forum (link below), read the FAQs, get yourself some containers, and you'll be ready to go! Cheaper than buying plants - but of course, you'll be doing that too because, like most of us, you won't be able to resist!