Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarbot

How to care for bulbs in Anchorage?

sarbot
18 years ago

Hi. Happy Easter, everyone! I'm new to Alaska, to gardening, and to this forum, which means the learning curve is pretty steep, and I've got tons of questions. (I'm also in a new house, with an 8-month-old -- my first! It's been an eventful year...)

I'll stick to one question for this post. I just received some bulbs (packages simply say dahlias, gladioli, lilies, and irises -- nothing more specific) as a housewarming gift. I'm thrilled about them, but somewhat wary. They came from a big-box store, so I wonder how hardy they are (the gift-givers aren't gardeners). My other questions are:

- Do I need to pot them indoors first?

- Will they bloom more than once (another housewarming guest voiced some doubts)?

- Will they need to winter indoors?

If they are more trouble than they're worth, I'm thinking of exchanging them for something hardier and lower-maintenance.

Thanks for any tips! And please let me know if I should be posting to the Far North forum... As far as I can tell, we're in Zone 4(a?).

Sarah

Comments (3)

• bizzylizzy
    17 years ago

Hi,