Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
compubimbo

Poorly Performing Crocuses

compubimbo
19 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to this site and forums in general, but I can not find information on the web to help me, so I thought I would give this a try!

I am new to gardening, and I am new to this climate! I'm originally from the south, but now I am in Quebec on Lake Champlain. This has been a somewhat mild winter this year and only reached around -30F.

I moved into my house last summer and did not have a chance to do anything with the yard. However, the old owners told us that they planted some bulbs that never showed up. (I did not ask when.) My yard is mainly grass with an L-shaped bed near the deck that grows mainly Tigerlilies-- they were there last year. But there is also a really big bed that is maybe 16' x 8'. This bed was my goal for this spring. I had planned to till it out and plant the plants and flowers I wanted. When we moved in, this bed was overgrown with many weeds, lots of grass, and numerous other ugly features (including a number of maple seedlings!)

Much to my chagrin, first thing this April, I see little sprouts all over!!! The bulbs were coming out. So, now, I can not till the bed out. I had to pull all the weeds by hand-- running grass... not fun.

So, you know the background, now for the problem. The first ones up were or course my crocuses. Thery were so pert and pretty and vibrant and appeared to be extremely healthy! they started blooming April 10. Now, little over a week later, all the flowers are wilting. The foilage seems to still be very strong and healthy though. A few of the plants never bloomed at all, but I thought that might be bad bulbs.

Anyway, I wanted to know the average bloom time of crocuses and if anyone might know why mine are going away so quickly when nothing else has started blooming yet.

Any comments or help will be greatly appreciated so I can do better for next year!

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• janetr
    19 years ago